Setting up workflows
Workflows are an integral part of working with a PIM, where passing data between various users and other systems is at the heart of its operation. Workflows help regulate and control that transfer of data and ascertain the state of progress of enriching products with data.
Currently there is only a single, predefined workflow available, with some customization possible (which will be discussed further in this segment); however, workflows will receive a substantial overhaul in the upcoming release of Ergonode.
As mentioned before, at present only a single workflow is available. What can be customized is the statuses within it, and the transitions between these statuses. Let's have a closer look at these customizations now.
Overview of a workflow with statuses and transitions set up.
The first element required for a workflow are statuses delimiting steps along the path from a bare product to a finished product entry. Here is how to create and edit them:
Creation of a new status entry.
While on the workflow page, click the "New Status" button in the top right corner. This will bring up the window show above. From here you can define a system name (which must be unique), the color for this status (which can be chosen from a palette displayed when this selector is clicked, and which must not already be in use by another status) and you can also define if this status will be the default one assigned to newly entered products.
You can then either click “Create” to save your entry, or “Create & Edit” to save the entry and move to the edition view for this new status.
Status edition view.
Color palette available for statuses.
Once you have statuses set up, you need to define their place in your workflow and the conditions needed to move from one status to the next. The way to go about that is to set up transitions.
To set up a new transition, hover over the column representing the status you wish to be the starting point for the transition, click on the green plus icon that will then be displayed and move the cursor to the desired endpoint status. Before you click to complete the transition, a dotted green line will be displayed if this transition is possible. Click to confirm the transition.
Before you click to confirm the transition endpoint, a green dotted line will be displayed indicating if this transition is possible. If a trainsition you are attempting to create already exists, the line will be there, but it will end with an arrow, not the green plus icon indicating a possible connection.
Once you have created a transition, you can edit it by hovering the cursor over the line denoting the transition. This will display two icons – a green pen icon, which, if clicked, will move you to the transition editing view, and a white “X” on a red background, which is used for deleting transitions.
Hovering over lines indicating transitions will display icons allowing for the edition and deletion of the transitions.
Transition editing view.
When you click on the transition edition button, you will be taken to a new view, which will show you where the transition starts and ends, as well as allow you to define which user roles will be notified when a product makes this transition.
There is also a tab that allows you to select conditions that need to be met before a product can make the transition. These conditions come from a predefined list.
You can select the conditions that a product needs to meet to make the transition from a predefined list.
If you add more than one condition, they will be connected with the AND logical operator, which means all conditions present must be met for a product to make the transition. No other operators are currently possible.
Once you have set up all the statuses and transitions between them to your needs and satisfaction, your workflow is complete and you now have more control over you data enrichment process and can be sure no errors creep into your published product cards.
Last modified 8d ago
Copy link